View Thread
Diptera.info :: Miscellaneous :: General queries
Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Fly bubble blowing
LordV
#21 Print Post
Posted on 29-11-2005 15:39

Well this one was in the sun today air temp 5'C - equivalent of smoking?

lordv.smugmug.com/photos/46429997-L.jpg
Edited by LordV on 29-11-2005 16:19

lynkos
#22 Print Post
Posted on 29-11-2005 20:07

Shock Sarah

http://www.lynkos.net
gardensafarinl
#23 Print Post
Posted on 04-02-2006 18:38

Dear Members,

I am no expert on flies at all, but I do have pictures of a fly (don't know the species or genus) bubbling. It had been bubbling for quite some time, before we decided to make pictures of this behaviour. The pictures were taken on the 22nd of May from 12:54 to 12:59 and like I said the animal had been bubbling for some time already and at 13:00 it was still bubbling. The pictures were taken inside the house in a room with only one window, facing northwards. By the way: anyone any idea what fly this is?

Cheers,

Hans

www.gardensafari.net/temp/bubbling.jpg

www.gardensafari.net/temp/bubbling2.jpg

http://www.gardensafari.nl
Dima DD
#24 Print Post
Posted on 20-02-2006 00:32

LordV wrote:
New theory on this behaviour. ...Wonder if it's a way of warming up faster by letting the drop warm up in the sun and then sucking it back in again. Another reason for wondering this is normally flies seem to to sunbathe with their back to the sun (ie head away from the sun), whilst when they are bubble blowing they always seem to be facing the sun or at least at right angles to it, so the bubble is getting full sun.
Brian V.